Congressman Vern Buchanan

Representing the 16th District of Florida

Buchanan Honors Exceptional Fire and Rescue/EMS Personnel

Oct 2, 2017
Press Release

BRADENTON – Congressman Vern Buchanan has announced the winners of the 16th Congressional District Fire and Rescue and Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Awards. Buchanan established the awards to give special recognition to fire and rescue and EMS personnel who have provided distinguished service to his constituents. 

“We owe so much to our police, firefighters and EMS,” Buchanan said. “Our community is made safer and more prosperous because we have first responders watching our backs. When called upon, they often arrive at scenes of danger and trauma, to which they reliably bring strength and composure. These brave men and women spend hundreds of hours in training so that they are prepared when they get ‘the call.’ These stellar individuals exemplify what it means to serve a community.” 

Buchanan presented awards to the following winners, who were selected this year by an independent committee comprised of a cross section of current and retired fire and rescue personnel living in the district.

Manatee County Department of Public Safety’s Community Paramedicine Program: Unit Citation Award.

Training Officer Christopher Stark of Hillsborough County Fire Rescue: Dedication and Professionalism Award.

Chief Dennis Jones of Hillsborough County Fire Rescue: Career Service Award.

Division Chief-Fire Marshal Tammy Zurla of Hillsborough County Fire Rescue: Dedication and Professionalism Award.

The awards ceremony was held Friday evening in the Bradenton City Council Chambers.