Congress of the United States

House of Representatives

Washington, **DC** 20515 May 1, 2024

The Honorable Andy Harris Chairman Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies 2362-A Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Sanford D. Bishop, Jr., Ranking Member Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies 1001 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Harris and Ranking Member Bishop:

As you craft the Fiscal Year 2025 Agriculture appropriations bill, we write in strong support for a permanent restriction on the use of taxpayer funds for horse slaughter operations in the United States. Specifically, we ask that language be included for the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Food Safety and Inspection Service's (FSIS) budget prohibiting tax dollars from being spent to inspect horse slaughter plants with the notation that the current annual prohibition should continue "hereafter," thereby permanently preventing horsemeat from being processed in the United States for human consumption. This overwhelmingly popular and fiscally responsible policy has been enacted for each year since Fiscal Year 2014 and for all but two years since 2005. Horse slaughter is an inherently cruel practice that 83% of Americans want to see permanently banned.

In 2012, more than 160,000 American horses were shipped abroad to slaughter for human consumption. There has been a consistent and dramatic decline in those numbers over the last decade: in 2023, 20,370 American horses were exported for this purpose – an almost 88% decrease.

Beyond fiscal and humane concerns, flesh from American horses is not fit for human consumption because equines are not treated as food animals in the United States and therefore are not maintained under the regulatory food safety requirements for animals raised for human consumption. Throughout their lives, horses routinely receive drugs and medications that are specifically banned by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for use in food animals due to their toxicity to humans.

For these reasons, we respectfully urge you to include the following language in the Fiscal Year 2025 Agriculture appropriations bill to permanently prevent taxpayer dollars from being spent on the slaughter of American horses:

None of the funds made available by this Act, or any other Act in this fiscal year or any fiscal year hereafter, may be used to pay the salaries or expenses of any person or personnel — (1) to inspect horses under section 3 of the Federal Meat Inspection Act (21 U.S.C. 603); (2) to inspect horses under section 903 of the Federal Agriculture Improvement and Reform Act of

1996 (7 U.S.C. 1901 note; Public Law 104–127); or (3) to implement or enforce section 352.19 of title 9, Code of Federal Regulations, or any other regulation concerning the inspection of slaughter horses.

Sincerely,

Vern Buchanan Member of Congress

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

Madelune

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyen Jr. Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

ilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Some

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Cohe

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Roul M.

Raúl M. Grijalva V Member of Congress

<u>Nanetto Diaz Barragan</u> Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Lucy MCBath

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

7 Au

Troy E. Nehls Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

ald C. Cannoll

Mullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

eano H. Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Mussy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

1(2

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

l Shemm

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

LH.K.

Thomas H. Kean, Jr. Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Andrea Selines

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Spin A. Juis Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Lewold Hadlen

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

<u>Lu</u> (7111 Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

18.1 os.

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Utus

Dina Titus Member of Congress

W_Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Ritchie Im

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Mark Jalaan

Mark Takano Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Marcus J. Molinaro Member of Congress

ans Mace

Nancy Ma Member of Congress

y d. Panie

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

nmy Panetta Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress

James P. Une P

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

blace Dinger

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi

Member of Congress

Minic Fletoner

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Colin Z. Alfred Member of Congress

unmen L. Lee

Summer Lee Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

mila MAN

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

David Schweikert Member of Congress

D.Cll

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Rashi

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Val Hoyle ⁴ Member of Congress

Grace & Mapslitano Grace F. Napolitano

Member of Congress

Ville Je

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

tato

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Set

Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Mall

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Biel Pascrell Jr.

Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey Member of Congress

Tobir C X:Kell

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

<u>Alignil Monenley</u> Abigail Davis Spanberger

Member of Congress

udy Chu dy Chu

Member of Congress

Sim Himes

Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress

.00 -

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

men

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

enner R. Meclice

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Dean Phillips Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Raxhida flail

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

ed W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

esus 7

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

FOUN CASTRO

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Wiley N ekel Member of Congress

knude

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Jasmine ockett

Member of Congress

ardend ony

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

If here

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

tilly of schotten

Hillary Ø. Scholten Member of Congress

May La Scar

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

be Neguse Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

lalat

Nick LaLota Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

ke 0

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

1/:

Young Kim Member of Congress